The Hyderabad Region comprises of six Sunday Schools; The total strength of the students is more than three hundred. The office bearers for the region are Vice-President-Rev. Fr. Thomas Oommen, Secretary-Mrs. Sonia John, Inspector-Mr. Koshy Mathew, Zonal Representative-Mr. Kiran Raj and Treasurer-Mrs. Susan Wilson. The Executive committee comprises of the office bearers, all vicars, HMs, unit secretaries and teachers’ representatives.
The annual general body meeting 2016 of Sunday school was held at St. George Church  Jeedimetla on 24 January 2016. As the teachers already attended two orientation sessions during the one day and two day camps, there was no orientation class for teachers this time. The diocese level arts competitions were held on the same day the director Dr. George Panackamattom and the zonal secretary of Bangalore came to Hyderabad, along with the participants.
The new academic session of Sunday school started in January. On 24 April 2016 the district level winners of 10 and 12 class students were felicitated at St. George church Jeedimetla. Abel Thomas Koshy of St. Mary’s Orthodox Church came first in 12 class and Roslin K Rajesh and Rooha Kunjumon of St. Andrews church shared the second position. In 10 class Atul Koshy John of St. Gregorios Cathedral bagged the first position and Daniel Paul stood second in district. The children were bestowed with awards by H. G. Youhanon Mar Diascoros.
The former Vice President of Hyderabad Region Sunday schools, Rev. Fr. Koshy Thomas got transferred to Bangalore and the new Vice-President Rev. Fr. Thomas Oommen took charge from June 2016. Rev. Fr. Koshy Thomas was given a farewell felicitation at St. George Church Jeedimetla on 24th April. The Diocesan director of Sunday school Mr. George Panackamattom has shifted to the US and the new director Mr. Kuruvilla Varghese took charge from June.
The half yearly examination was conducted on 24 July 2016 at the diocese level. Annual examination for classes till 9 and 11 classes were held on 11 December 2016. The examinations for 10 and 12 classes were held on 4 December 2016 at St. Andrews Marthoma Church’s Parish hall.
All the Sunday schools conducted their arts competitions by August 2016 and the district level arts competitions were held on 25 September 2016 at St. George Orthodox Church Jeedimetla. Six judges were present to grade the competitions. The top two performers from each category were selected to participate in the diocese level competitions. The diocese level winners of the arts competitions of 2015 participated in the inter-diocese
competitions held in Nagpur on Sunday 17 July 2016.
The two days camp of Sunday school was conducted on 28 and 29 November 2016 at ACTC Gandhi Nagar. The camp started with the inauguration by the President H. G. Dr. Abraham Mar Seraphim and the Vice-President Rev. Fr.Thomas Oommen. Children from all five churches including Vizag attended the camp. The speakers for the occasion were Dn. Nithin. V. Rajan and Nisha James. The camp also included creative session, public speaking tips and a group discussion led by former students of Sunday school from St. Gregorios Orthodox Cathedral, St. George Orthodox Church and St. Andrews Orthodox Church. The camp ended on Sunday after the Holy Qurbana and orientation class for teachers by the Diocesan Director Mr. Kuruvilla Varghese.
We are grateful to our President H.G. Dr. Abraham Mar Seraphim for the support and guidance provided to us in our endeavours. The Director Mr. Kuruvilla Varghese is very vibrant and supportive and takes care of the development of this region sincerely. Vice-President Rev. Fr. Thomas Oommen too is a great support and takes lots of interest in providing the best to students through the activities that are conducted by Sunday school. The team members, HMs and teachers of all Sunday schools are very cooperative and as a team we are able fulfill the activities of Sunday school with the grace of God.

Rev. Fr. Thomas Oommen

Vice President (Hyderabad Region)

St. Gregorios Orthodox Cathedral 1-1-396/398,Cathedral Road, Gandhi Nagar P.O., Hyderabad - 500 080. Telangana State
040 2761 2322
094419 22344
[email protected]

Mrs. Sonia John

Secretary (Hyderabad Region)

H. No 4-254, Navjeevan Nagar Ferozeguda Secuderabad-500011